1862 Parisian Handwritten Letter

15 Jun

Where is a script font like this!? I just bought this gem from a dealer in France. The little swirls sprinkled throughout and perfectly angled, spaced, and uniform weight is just remarkable. I intend to copy this letter over and over until I’ve learned to replicate this style of writing. The uppercase letters make me all giddy- look at the G, and L…and E and D! I’m toying with the idea of a downloads page where I’ll scan in all of my paper goods and have them available for download to use in any of your projects. What do you think? Useful?

10 Responses to “1862 Parisian Handwritten Letter”

  1. lestaret June 15, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Hi, just found your blog via this beautiful letter. Simply stunning. I don’t believe there will ever be a font as well balanced and elegant as authentic cursive script – they always look too contrived or too perfect. It is the imperfections that make it work so well.

    Great stuff, added to my favourites – I will be back!

    Chris

  2. bbogPHX June 15, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    You have some real gems here. Great finds! Writing like this is truly a lost artform at this point.

  3. Marie June 15, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    uuuhh! Yes please! I’d love to have good qualtiy downloads available!

    And while I’m here: I am thrilled to have found this blog (via designspongeonline) and in its early stage, too!
    When I usually find a good blog that has been going for years, I get obsessed and have to browse through roughly 8 million pages in 2 days just to see it all at once…

    thumbs up!

    looking forward to seeing more vintage posters and such

    • vintagemeohmy June 15, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      Yay! I’m so glad you like the blog! I feel guilty spending so much time on my hobby..but I love it so much! I’m rounding up some materials to start a downloads section and will make a feature post about it when it’s ready- so keep an eye out! If there’s ever anything in particular you think the blog is missing or certain types of downloads that would be especially helpful, send me an e-mail! I want to build a happy community of vintage lovers : )

  4. onearmedgraphicsbbie June 16, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Amazing talent in handwriting. Makes you wonder what else they used their creative talents on.
    Downloads?
    Yes. Please.

  5. annie June 17, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    i want downloads too! i love finding old handwritten letters. since you live in sf, do you ever go to the vintage paper fair? they have it 3x a year in golden gate park’s hall of flowers. http://www.vintagepaperfair.com/sanfran.htm

  6. Daniel June 19, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    Invaluable, actually.

  7. pavgreen June 22, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Love your blog and would be highly delighted if you have downloads of some of your items.

Leave a Reply

